Port forwarding - Netgear WNR2000

General support questions and discussions.

Port forwarding - Netgear WNR2000

Postby PTB » Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:21 am

Hi folks,

Just in the midst of setting this up and I cant get it to work from the internet side. I do have it triggering nicely from the local network side.

I'm a bit new to this port forwarding caper, so I have probably have made some kind of rookie error.

I am using an xboard relay for the arduino side and my router is a WNR2000

I have also tested the port on www.canyouseeme.org..... not getting through

In the router....
1. WAN Setup => Changed NAT filtering from Secured to open
2. Port Forwarding/Port Triggering => Added an FTP port

(Changed Service Name to HTTP still no worky)

3. LAN Setup => reserved an ip address for the arduino

Like I said ... internal connection via wifi works fine.....but the internet port forwarded connection is giving me grief.

Any assistance greatly appreciated... thanks

PTB
PTB

Re: Port forwarding - Netgear WNR2000

Postby support » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:56 pm

Assuming your external IP address is 144.12.14.122 and the internal IP address of your Arduino is 192.168.0.13,
you'd want to define the following NAT forwarding rule on your router:

WAN -> LAN NAT port forwarding
144.12.14.122 (port 80) -> 192.168.0.13 (port 80)

I don't know how your specific router works, but you want to have WAN to LAN forward on port 80.
support
Site Admin

Postby PTB » Fri Jan 30, 2015 3:16 am

Hi,

Thanks for reply. I thought that was what I had achieved but I went and rechecked.

Here's the Latest Testing Trials
While I am Testing, I have two devices setup on MyDoorOpener App on the iphone. One for connecting via wifi and one for connecting via internet.

I did an update of the firmware on my router and from what I had read somewhere it sounds like loopback is catered for in the latest firmware.