Sketch too big

General support questions and discussions.

Re: Sketch too big

Postby support » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:46 pm

Patrick,

Did you try adding the dns and gateway as per this thread?
http://forums.mydooropener.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=316#p785

It often fixes these issues for some people where their Arduino can't see the internet, for some reason.

Keep us posted on your results. Best regards,
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby tiga31328 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:04 pm

I did see that actually and I am trying to get it to work. ;)

I modified the line to MyDoorOpenerServer myDoorOpenerServer(password, mac, ip, dns, gateway); in the MyDoorOpener sketch.

I added the following lines just above it;

uint8_t dns[4] = { 192, 168, 52, 1 }; <-- When I compile, it errors out with 'unsigned char dns [4]' redeclared as different kind of symbol
uint8_t gateway[4] = { 192, 168, 52, 1 };


Can you tell me the correct formatting to use for this?


Thank you,
Patrick
tiga31328
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:16 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby support » Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:02 pm

Don't call your variable dns, call it something else (myDns or something) as there's already another symbol called dns which conflicts.
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby tiga31328 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:03 am

Okay, but how do I get that variable name to be used in the Sketch?

I mean, if I name it ddns how is it going to know to use it?


MyDoorOpenerServer myDoorOpenerServer(password, mac, ip, dns, gateway); <--If I use the already defined names it errors out compiling, if I change them to something like 'mydns' it errors out as not being defined.


uint8_t mydns[4] = { 192, 168, 52, 1 }; <-- If I just make up new names how is it going to know to use them?
uint8_t mygateway[4] = { 192, 168, 52, 1 };
tiga31328
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:16 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby tiga31328 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:39 am

I 'think' I figured it out, I have the DNS and GW setup as follows;

uint8_t mydns[4] = { 8, 8, 8, 8 };
uint8_t mygateway[4] = { 192, 168, 52, 1 };


// Do not remove the following server definitions

EthernetServer server(port);
MyDoorOpenerServer myDoorOpenerServer(password, mac, ip, mydns, mygateway);



It made no change in my Prowl notifications, they still do not work. Is there someplace else that I need to define what mydns and mygateway are doing, if not, what should I do now?


Thank you,
Patrick
tiga31328
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:16 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby support » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:18 am

What you did looks fine. It should work ...

Few obvious questions (you never know ...) :D
1) you did re-upload the sketch on the board after doing these changes, right?
2) you did uncomment the #define PUSH_NOTIFICATIONS line (line ~131) to have Prowl notifications turned ON, right?

If you did, it should work ... If it's not working, I'd try to isolate things a bit ... Try to get/build a simple sketch that only does a Prowl API call and see if that works. This
way you have nothing else in your way and can try figuring out why your Arduino (XBoard Relay) can't see the internet ...
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby tiga31328 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:37 am

I did re-upload.
I did uncomment.

How does it know to use the variables as what I put in?

Do you think any of the compile errors I mentioned before have anything to do with it?

I don't know enough about doing a sketch to do one that just does Prowl?
tiga31328
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:16 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby support » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:13 pm

It knows to use those variables because you're referencing them in the line
Code: Select all
MyDoorOpenerServer myDoorOpenerServer(password, mac, ip, mydns, mygateway);
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby tiga31328 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:41 pm

Can you help me with the Prowl testing?
tiga31328
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:16 pm

Re: Sketch too big

Postby support » Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:50 am

Sorry, but that's beyond the support we can extend as it's very specific to your environment. You can Google around
and should be able to find a simple sketch that performs HTTP connectivity from an Arduino. Not necessarily Prowl,
but that doesn't matter. You need to test the Arduino being the client and connecting to a server, any web site on
the internet.

Hope you understand. Kind regards,
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Support



cron