Need HELP!!!!

General support questions and discussions.

Need HELP!!!!

Postby stew22 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:33 am

I want to build the garage door opener but I have my own hardware. I plan to use the Arduino UNO or Leonardo board and I also have the ethernet shield and the wifi shield. I would like to use the wifi shield so I don't have to run a cable to my router. I also have a bread board and stand alone relays.

My questions are......

1. Can I use the wifi shield?

2. Can I set it up to control the relay which will just momentarily close the connection that is connected to the door button in my garage?

3. Can I access or operate the garage door from somewhere without being on the same network as the Arduino?

Any help on this is greatly appreciated. I am willing to modify the code if needed but I would need some help on that.

Thanks,
Stew
stew22
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:28 am

Re: Need HELP!!!!

Postby support » Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:57 pm

Hi,

Last time we checked the WiFi shield would not work as we rely on the WebDuino library which doesn't support it. You
can either rewrite that code to use another HTTP library that supports it or use a Wireless Bridge as suggested in our
documentation. https://github.com/sirleech/Webduino

Out of the box, our code works with our supported hardware, but you can adjust anything as you see fit to make it work
with other "unsupported" hardware.

Our platform works over your mobile carrier's network (GSM, etc) or WiFi when you're in proximity of your house. You could
open your garage door in China while on vacation in Alaska. :D

Best regards,
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: Need HELP!!!!

Postby stew22 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:13 pm

Ok well its not hard for me to run the cat5 cable so i will use the ethernet shield.

Next question can someone help me rewrite the code so i can use the Arduino UNO and the ethernet shield? I already bought the $6 app for my iphone but i could not get it to work. I followed the instructions but had a ton of errors.


Thanks in advance,
Stew22
stew22
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:28 am

Re: Need HELP!!!!

Postby stew22 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:52 pm

The errors i am getting are below...... Need help understanding them....


MyDoorOpener:44: error: variable or field 'output' declared void
MyDoorOpener:44: error: 'WebServer' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:44: error: 'server' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:44: error: expected primary-expression before 'char'
MyDoorOpener:44: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
MyDoorOpener:45: error: variable or field 'output' declared void
MyDoorOpener:45: error: 'WebServer' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:45: error: 'server' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:45: error: expected primary-expression before 'int'
MyDoorOpener:45: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
MyDoorOpener:172: error: 'WebServer' does not name a type
MyDoorOpener:428: error: variable or field 'output' declared void
MyDoorOpener:428: error: 'WebServer' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:428: error: 'server' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:428: error: expected primary-expression before 'char'
MyDoorOpener:428: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
MyDoorOpener:444: error: variable or field 'output' declared void
MyDoorOpener:444: error: 'WebServer' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:444: error: 'server' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:444: error: expected primary-expression before 'int'
MyDoorOpener:444: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
MyDoorOpener:453: error: variable or field 'webRequestHandler' declared void
MyDoorOpener:453: error: 'WebServer' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:453: error: 'server' was not declared in this scope
MyDoorOpener:453: error: 'WebServer' has not been declared
MyDoorOpener:453: error: expected primary-expression before 'char'
MyDoorOpener:453: error: expected primary-expression before 'bool'
stew22
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:28 am

Re: Need HELP!!!!

Postby support » Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:59 pm

There's a search field/button up/top ... Use it and you'll often find what you're looking for ... This has been discussed in many prior posts!
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6
support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:30 pm


Return to Support



cron